GT86 Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!
I own a smart roadster coupe with approx 100 bhp, have had it since new for 9 years and am looking for something to replace it with, with at least the same "fun factor".
I really love the smart but I want a car that I can rely on and I think it is getting too old now and too many kilometers (> 100 000 km).

I've been considering a GT86 for a few months now, have been to the dealer to testdrive it twice (once with the missus) and love its appearance, the interior and the feel of it.
TBH it doesn't take a lot for a smart roadster owner to get impressed by quality sincethe smartis crap in terms of "quality feel".

The drive itself was enjoyable, if not overly impressed by its performance but thats not what the car is about I guess. One of my concerns is the fuel consumption, what will you get from it driving "normally". The smart gives me down to 4,5 liters/100 km and normally 5,5 l/100 km (eq6,3 mpg & 5,1 mpg ifmy calculations are correct). I do understand that the GT86 is a bit thirstier but what is your normal consumption?

Since I am used to the smart, every other car use to feel really big, so does the GT86, but it has the same nice low driver position and both the steering wheel and gear box feels great.

I will use it all round the year and here in Sweden we tend to get some snow during the winter, any thoughts on that? The smart is excellent in the snow as long as you don't turn the ESP off, then it goes ballistic on you (yes it is also a RWD but has the motor in the back and almost no weight on the front wheels)

I am not quit "there" yet in my decision process and would appreciate any help in getting to a final decision.

Edited by: JanneB

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
... and while I'm at it: