GT86 touch screen stereo in a BRZ?? - Toyota GT 86 Forums UK
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 13th May 2018, 16:14 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 4
Hey!

Does anybody know if the OEM touch screen GT86 stereo will go in a BRZ? I just bought my BRZ but it has the standard, non touch screen stereo. Im just wondering because there seems to be a fair few second-hand GT86 touch screen stereos knocking around, but no BRZ ones
AshJD94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 13th May 2018, 16:35
Expert
 
amcluesent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,082
Garage
AFAIK the wiring loom is different enough to make it a hassle.
amcluesent is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 13th May 2018, 16:54 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 4
Ahh, okay thanks!
AshJD94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 13th May 2018, 20:37
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 97
Would a Subaru to iso harness and then a reverse iso to Toyota harness do the trick?
NJay is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 14th May 2018, 08:42 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Wirral
Posts: 4
Quite possibly!

I was thinking more about the actual fitting of the stereo though, and the facia surround etc. Wondering if it would slide right in without any modifications needed. Hmmm.
AshJD94 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 14th May 2018, 08:46
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 97
At worst I expect the passenger and radio fascias from an 86 would clip into place?
NJay is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 14th May 2018, 10:36
Expert
 
amcluesent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,082
Garage
Seems a lot of effort, why not just go for an Android HU?
amcluesent is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 28th May 2018, 16:56
GT86 Senior
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hertford
Posts: 654
IIRC, the BRZ hole is double-DIN and the 86 one is 120mm wide, so you'd need to change the trim/cut out the hole. Hence why Toyota-specific HU are available from Kenwood et al.

Just get a decent aftermarket HU.

Blue M6 with black leather.
Nick Graves is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 28th May 2018, 20:14
Groupie
 
zonefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Manchester(ish)
Posts: 124
I have a Subaru BRZ one-piece dash that fits the Toyota head unit perfectly?

Dave
----------
Red - 2013
zonefx is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th December 2018, 05:35
Groupie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cumbria UK
Posts: 211
I have a gt86 headunit for sale if you want to come to me we can try it, from what I've seen it should go straight in a brz.
thetyrant is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome