GT86 Owners Club Forum banner

Should I get a GT86?

3K views 14 replies 12 participants last post by  GTRob 
#1 ·
I’ve been admiring this car for a while, after paying off my small hatchback, I decided to learn more about it. I’ve had 5 cars, all hatchbacks, I wanted to wait until I was a bit older until getting a GT86 due to higher insurance etc.

After reading horror stories about driving in bad weather (I live in UK so it’s rarely nothing too horrendous here) it made me think, is it a car for me? I will be using it to commute daily, and it will be my only car.
Is this the kind of car you can easily drive daily? I’ve read lots about the tyres they’re supplied with and would defo consider changing these.

I don’t know much about cars, but I can appreciate a good looking car when I see one.
I’m a confident driver but I’m not someone who wants to drift etc which seems to be what a lot of owners like to do. It would 100% be my pride and joy- but should I get one?
Honest answers please!! Thanks

#2 ·
Best walk away. Bad car. Ugly, unreliable, expensive and scary.We're only here because we get paid for it. 'Onnist.

the horror stories are new to me though. With the right tyres (not HP) it's not a difficult car in the rain though some people will still manage to mess things up. It does reward driving skill and you don't need to get into the drifting stuff for that. The main gripe people have is the engine lacks a bit of grunt.

As for usability as a daily, too early to tell with 130k on the speedo.

#6 ·
I'm not sure what horror stories you've heard, some folks are not fans of the Michelin Primacys. I've got them on and will replace with the same and have had no problems with them. It depends how you drive and whether you have the Traction control on I suppose. If you drive like a twit then you will get in trouble but drive sympathetically & feel the car, then it is one of the most enjoyable driving experiences.